New NAGAFF President promises to tackle challenges hindering cargo release at ports

L-R: Dr. Boniface Aniebonam, NAGAFF Founder, new NAGAFF President Tochukwu Ezisi and his wife during the inauguration at Rockview Hotel, Apapa, Lagos

The newly appointed President, National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (NAGAFF), Tochukwu Ezisi, has promised to tackle issues bothering on trade facilitation and seamless flow of cargoes from the ports in synergy with all associations registered by the Council for the Regulations of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN).

Tochukwu Ezisi who is the sixth National President of the association also promised to institute a comprehensive health insurance scheme and medical health fund to help deserving members of the association access affordable health care.

Speaking at during his inauguration in Lagos on Monday, Ezisi pledged that his administration will focus on constructive engagement with heads of major regulatory agencies to ensure better synergy with NAGAFF in the interest of its members.

Ezisi also sought the support of members and urged them to unite to move the association forward just as he promised to run an all-inclusive administration.

Noting that his appointment as the new President of NAGAFF did not go down well with some members of the association, Ezisi appealed to those who are aggrieved to sheath their sword and join hands with him to move the association forward.

 “We all know the mission and vision of NAGAFF and I must state that the only way to continue to forge ahead and stay focused on the task ahead is to stick together as one family irrespective of age, tribe and background. Let us see each other not as adversaries but as neighbors.

“Let us treat each other with dignity and respect. Let us join forces, stop the shouting and lower the temperature. For without unity there is no peace, only bitterness and fury with no progress. If we do that, I guarantee we will not fail.

 “With your support, my administration will ensure NAGAFF keys into a good health insurance scheme that will be beneficial to all financial members.

 “Considering our numerical strength, I will negotiate a favourable deal with a health insurance policy provider for a good product that will be of benefit to members. We shall also institute a comprehensive health insurance scheme and establish a medical health fund to help deserving members subscribe to the scheme.

 “My administration will work with the leadership of the various branches of NAGAFF and establish working relationships with good hospitals across Nigeria to agree to discounts on bills for members of our association,” he said.

 The NAGAFF President added that one of the first tasks his administration will undertake would be to build an administrative structure for NAGAFF to ensure operational efficiency for the progress of the association.

 He thanked the founder of NAGAFF, Dr. Boniface Aniebonam and the entire members of NAGAFF for the confidence reposed in him to lead the association, promising to work hard to deliver on his mandate.

In his remarks, the Founder of NAGAFF, Dr. Aniebonam said at the initial stage, he never thought about Ezisi becoming President of NAGAFF but he earned his admiration because of his ‘capacity for hard work and goodwill’.

 He urged NAGAFF members to ensure compliance to trade regulations and be law-abiding to enjoy the support of the new President and his executives.

 “What will prepare all of you to be on the safe side and enjoy the support of the President is to learn how to live on the part of the law. Don’t go to the government with dirty hands, more so when you come with threats. Don’t hide under association to do anything to the contrary. If you want Ezisi to assist you, be on the part of the law,” he told NAGAFF members at the inauguration.

Other officers inaugurated into the National Executive Committee are Deputy National President, Mr. Simeon Nwonu; National Deputy President (Air Logistics), Forwarder, Segun Musa; Deputy National President Sea Ports, Forwarder Afam Chukwuma; Deputy National President Land Border, Timothy Awogbemi; Secretary-General, Mr. Dipo Olayoku; Assistant Secretary-General, Mr. Francis I. Omotosho; National Publicity Secretary, Mr. Clement E. Ewegbuna; National Treasurer, Mrs. Melody Obehi; National Financial Secretary; Mr. Okey Nerus; National Welfare Officer, Princess Uju Ebubedike; National Government Agencies Relations Chairman, Mr. Ifeanyi Ekemezie; Barrister Fred Akokhia, Chief Legal Officer; Barrister Henry Orarotimi

Others are National Ethics, Complaint and Discipline Officer, Mr. Ignatius Nwachukwu; National Chairman Trade Facilitation Committee, Engineer Nonso Ejikeme; National Inspectorate & Intelligence, Mr. Ayodeji Ademola; National Women Leader, Mrs. Kate Oghagbon; National Auditor, Pastor Emma Chukwuma.

Vice President Western Zone Seaports, Princess Chi Ezeh; Vice President Western Zone Air Logistics, Aibu Adewale Adbulfatai; Zonal Secretary Western Zone Seaports, Mr. Stanley Ezenga; Zonal Secretary Western Zone Air Logistics, Dr. Abimbola Ogini; Vice President Western Zone Borders, Ozo Ekene Ajunwa among others.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.