CRFFN Chairman emerged by consensus, not imposition – Tanko

Ibrahim Tanko

A member of the governing board of the Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN), Alhaji Tanko Ibrahim says the Chairman of the Board, Abubakar Tsanni, and the Vice-Chairman, Chief Henry Njoku, emerged by consensus, not an imposition.

This clarification brings to end speculation that they were imposed on the Board by the Minister of Transport, Rotimi Amaechi.

Tanko, who is also the National Chairman, NAGAFF Compliance Committee, who disclosed this while speaking with newsmen in his office in Lagos insisted that such insinuation of imposition was a phantom imagination of people who were misinformed.

According to him, the emergence of Tsanni as chairman and Njoku as vice was done by consensus, adding that there were 32 members present when the minister came in and addressed us quickly because of his other exigencies of duty.

He further revealed that the decision to have the chairman and his vice as consensus candidates had already been reached before the meeting with Amaechi.

“We the NAGAFF people all agreed that we should support Abubakar Tsanni, there is, therefore, no iota of truth in the insinuation in a section of the media that there was imposition”, he said emphatically.

“There are no issues here, it was an agreement by all of us. what we arrived at was what played out. Nobody opposed what the Minister said, that was exactly what happened, it was a popular decision before he left for another meeting as he told us earlier”, he also said.

On the issue of the inauguration of the newly elected board, Tanko said there was no inauguration, pointing out that they only called for a meeting, not an inauguration.

He said: “The meeting as I explained was for us to endorse or reject those appointments not for inauguration or swearing-in as wrongly reported. It was only the Director, Legal Services of the Ministry of Transport, who told us that they will call us for the inauguration ceremony and swearing-in soon, not the minister.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.