NCAA DG praises AFCAC/Singapore on safety oversight course

NCAA DG Muhtar Usman (middle) with official of Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore at NCAA headquarters in Lagos

Director General of Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA), Capt. Muhtar Usman has praised the 18th African Civil Aviation Commission (AFCAC) and Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) On Site Cabin Safety Oversight Course, saying it came at a very appropriate time Nigeria is preparing for the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) Universal Safety Oversight Audit Programme (USOAP) ICAO Coordinated Validation Mission (ICVM) scheduled to take place in the first quarter of next year.

Usman, wno commended the progressive partnership of AFCAC and CAAS with NCAA which has contributed immensely to strengthening the NCAA’s safety oversight responsibilities, made this known while opening the course which was hosted by NCAA in Lagos, Nigeria.

According to Usman, Nigeria was selected to host to the course which attracted 39 participants from different African countries after due consideration which included its safety record of airline operations in the country.

This course was conducted under the framework of the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the African Civil Aviation Commission (AFCAC) and the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS).

The course took place from Monday 9thand ended Friday 13th September, 2019 at the Training Center of the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA), HQ Annex.

 Its objective is to provide participants with a good understanding of critical areas of cabin safety oversight. These are Operation of Aircraft under ICAO Annex 6; Transportation of Dangerous Goods by Air under Annex 18; Technical Instructions on the Transport of Dangerous Goods by Air in ICAO Doc 9284; and Manual of Procedures for Operations, Inspection, Certification and Continued Surveillance in ICAO Document 8335.

During the course, best practices in safety oversight management with a focus on special operations approval for Transportation of Dangerous Goods by Air and Extended Diversion Time Operations (EDTO) were dwelt upon.

The fifteen (15) African countries were Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Gambia, Senegal, Togo, Uganda, Democratic Republic of Congo and Gabon. Others were Ivory Coast, Ethiopia, Niger, Cape Verde, Mozambique and Sao Tome & Principe.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.